

# **COITY HIGHER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD AT LITCHARD PRIMARY SCHOOL AND VIA ZOOM ON THURSDAY 8<sup>th</sup> MAY 2025 AT 6.00 PM

Present: Councillor A Wathan (Chair outgoing) Councillor M Williams (Chair incoming)

Councillors: S Bletsoe Y Walton-Davies (from 6.08 pm) N Deere (from 6.12 pm via zoom) L Jeffreys (zoom) G Langdon L Lewis (from 6.05 pm) L Richards P Robinson A Williams (from 6.20 pm via zoom) J Williams

D Wingar

Apologies: None

Also Present: Mrs A C Harris, Clerk & RFO Mr P Ley, Asst. Clerk & FO

1/25-26.APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

As above.

# 2/25-26.DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations of interest were made:

- Councillors A Williams and M Williams declared an interest as husband and wife.
- Councillors S Bletsoe, A Wathan, A Williams and M Williams declared interests as BCBC Members.

There were no new interests declared for 2025/26.

**RESOLVED:** Noted.

# 3/25-26.TO APPOINT A CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2025/2026

Councillor A Wathan chaired this item of the meeting.

RESOLVED: Councillor Martin Williams was nominated and unanimously elected Chair of Council and chaired the meeting from this point. A Declaration of Acceptance of Office form was signed.

# 4/25-26.TO APPOINT A VICE-CHAIR FOR THE YEAR 2025/2026

RESOLVED: Councillor Alan Wathan was nominated and unanimously elected Vice-Chair of Council. A Declaration of Acceptance of Office form was signed.

#### 5/25-26.MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Council held in May 2024, be noted as an aide memoire as they were approved and signed in 2024.

# 6/25-26. TO DETERMINE A TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS 2025/26

The Clerk had distributed a list of meetings for the year.

RESOLVED: It was unanimously agreed that the council meetings would remain on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Thursday of the month and start at 7.00 pm, except for August when there is no meeting and July which will be held a week earlier due to the Clerk's previously agreed annual leave.

#### 7/25-26. TO APPOINT COMMITTEES AND AGREE THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Clerk had circulated the Terms of Reference in advance of the meeting and these were approved and accepted.

**RESOLVED:** 

- The Allotment Appeals Committee would be made up as follows:
- > Councillor Lisa Lewis
- > Councillor Luke Richards
- > Councillor Martin Williams (Chair of Committee)
- > Councillor John Williams
- The Finance & Resources Committee would be made up as follows:
- > Councillor Lynda Jeffreys
- > Councillor Luke Richards
- > Councillor David Wingar
- > Councillor Alan Wathan (Committee Chair)
- > Councillor Martin Williams (ex-officio Chair)
- The Community Access Plan Working Group would be made up as follows:
- > Councillor Luke Richards
- > Councillor Yvonne Walton-Davies
- > Councillor Peter Robinson
- > Councillor Martin Williams (Chair of Group)
- The Staff & Disciplinary Committees would be made up as follows:
- > Councillor Steve Bletsoe
- > Councillor Peter Robinson
- > Councillor Amanda Williams
- > Councillor Martin Williams (Chair of Committee)
- The Asset Transfer Working Group would be made up as follows:
  - Councillor Steve Bletsoe
  - > Councillor Gareth Langdon
  - Councillor Peter Robinson
  - Councillor David Wingar
  - Councillor Amanda Williams
  - > Councillor Martin Williams
  - > Councillor Alan Wathan (Chair of Committee)

# 8/25-26. TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO REPRESENT THE COUNCIL

**RESOLVED:** It was unanimously agreed to the following:

- > BCBC T&CC Forum Councillor Lisa Lewis (Councillor Lynda Jeffreys reserve)
- Coity Wallia Conservators Councillor Martin Williams & Councillor Yvonne Walton-Davies
- > One Voice Wales Area Committee Councillor Lynda Jeffreys
- One Voice Wales Larger and Annual Meetings, plus Conferences Chair or Vice-Chair (Councillor Yvonne Walton-Davies as a substitute for the One Voice Wales meetings.)

#### 9/25-26.TO ACCEPT THE 2025/26 ALLOWANCES FOR THE CHAIR, VICE-CHAIR, COMMITTEE CHAIRS AS AGREED AT THE DECEMBER 2024 PRECEPT MEETING

RESOLVED: The allowances were noted, agreed and approved. Forms were distributed, completed and given to the Clerk at the end of the meeting.

#### 10/25-26. TO NOTE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2024/25 AS AGREED AT THE MAY 2024 ANNUAL MEETING AND TO AGREE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2025/2026

RESOLVED: It was unanimously agreed that Ridgewood Associates would remain the Internal Auditor for the Community Council Audit for 2025/26.

#### 11/25-26. TO AGREE THE COUNCIL'S SOLICITOR FOR 2025/2026

**RESOLVED:** It was agreed that the Clerk would use DP Law for future work.

# <u>12/25-26.</u> AGREEMENT FROM ALL TO ADOPT THE COUNCIL'S CODE OF CONDUCT AND CURRENT STANDING ORDERS, FINANCIAL REGULATIONS AND OTHER POLICIES.

RESOLVED: All Councillors agreed to adopt the Code of Conduct and all other orders, regulations and policies as above.

The meeting closed at 6.22 pm