

### **COITY HIGHER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD VIA ZOOM ON THURSDAY $12^{TH}$ MAY 2022 AT 6.30 PM

Present: Councillor A Wathan (Chair with the exception of item 3 to elect a Chair for 2022/23)

Councillors: S Bletsoe

D Brown

**S** Charles

Y Walton-Davies

A Hughes

L Jeffreys

L Lewis

L Richards

A Williams

J Williams

M Williams

D Wingar

Also Present: Mrs A C Harris, Clerk & RFO

#### 1/22-23.APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

None given, all Members present.

#### 2/22-23.DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest in items on the agenda.

#### 3/22-23.ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

Councillor M Williams chaired this item of the meeting.

RESOLVED: Councillor Alan Wathan was nominated and unanimously re-elected Chair of Council and continued chairing the meeting from this point.

#### 4/22-23.APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED: Councillor Martin Williams was nominated and unanimously re-elected Vice-Chair of Council.

#### 5/22/23.MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Council held in May 2021, be noted as an aide memoire as they were approved and signed in 2021.

#### 6/22-23. TO DETERMINE A TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS 2022/23

The Clerk had distributed a list of meetings for the year.

RESOLVED: It was unanimously agreed that the council meetings would remain on the  $2^{nd}$  Thursday of the month and start at 7.00 pm

#### 7/22-23. TO APPOINT COMMITTEES AND AGREE THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Clerk had circulated the Terms of Reference in advance of the meeting and these were approved and accepted; with the increase in councillor numbers, it was agreed to increase each committee size by 1 from 4 to 5.

RESOLVED: It was also agreed to set up an Asset Transfer Working Group to look at the Expressions of Interest in Pendre and Litchard Fields including Coity Higher Community Centre.

- The Allotment Appeals Committee would be made up as follows:
- > Councillor Darren Brown
- Councillor Lynda Jeffreys
- Councillor Lisa Lewis
- Councillor Luke Richards
- Councillor Alan Wathan (Chair of Committee)

- The Finance & Resources Committee would be made up as follows:
- > Councillor Lynda Jeffreys
- Councillor Luke Richards
- > Councillor David Wingar
- > Councillor Alan Wathan
- Councillor Martin Williams (Committee Chair)
- The Community Access Plan Committee would be made up as follows:
- Councillor Darren Brown
- Councillor Stuart Charles
- Councillor John Williams
- Councillor Alan Wathan
- Councillor Martin Williams (Chair of Committee)
- The Staff & Disciplinary Committees would be made up as follows:
- Councillor Steve Bletsoe
- Councillor Alison Hughes
- Councillor Luke Richards
- Councillor Amanda Williams
- Councillor Alan Wathan (Chair of Committee)
- The Asset Transfer Working Group would be made up as follows:
- Councillor Lisa Lewis
- > Councillor David Wingar
- > Councillor Amanda Williams
- Councillor Alan Wathan (Chair of Committee)

#### 8/22-23. TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO REPRESENT THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: It was unanimously agreed to the following:

- > BCBC T&CC Forum Councillor Lisa Lewis (Councillor Lynda Jeffreys reserve)
- > School Community Governors Councillor Alison Hughes (Coety Primary) Litchard Primary tbc
- Coity Wallia Conservators Councillor John Williams
- > One Voice Wales Area Committee Councillor Lynda Jeffreys
- One Voice Wales Larger and Annual Meetings, plus Conferences Chair or Vice-Chair

## 9/22-23.TO NOTE THE 2022/2023 ALLOWANCES FOR THE CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR AS AGREED AT THE DECEMBER 2021 PRECEPT MEETING

RESOLVED: The allowances were noted, agreed and approved.

#### 10/22-23. TO DISCUSS THE IRPW REPORT 2022 REF. ATTENDANCE ALLOWANCE

RESOLVED: It was unanimously agreed to offer the attendance allowance to Councillors, a payment of £30 pa as well as the Councillor Allowance of £150 pa. The Clerk would write to the Councillors asking them to accept or decline the allowances offered, with the exception of any BCBC councillors who were not entitled to claim these allowances

## 11/22-23. TO NOTE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2021/2022 AND AGREE THE INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2022/2023

RESOLVED: The Internal Auditor for 2021/2022 was noted as Ridgewood Associates. It was agreed that as a matter of good practice to review the Internal Auditor for 2022/23.

#### 12/22-23. TO AGREE THE COUNCIL'S SOLICITOR FOR 2022/2023

RESOLVED: It was agreed that Mr Ceri Morgan of King Davies and Partners, Maesteg would continue to be the Community Council's solicitor for 2022/23.

#### 13/22-23. CODE OF CONDUCT

RESOLVED: All Councillors agreed to adopt the Code of Conduct and had signed their Declaration of Acceptance of Office stating this.

The meeting closed at 6.54 pm