

### **COITY HIGHER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

# $\frac{\text{MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD VIA ZOOM ON THURSDAY 13^{TH} MAY}{2021 \text{ AT } 6.30 \text{ PM}}$

Present: Councillor A Wathan (Chair)

Councillors:D Barrington A Davies C Evans A Hughes C Jones L Richards B Tiltman C Walburn M Williams

Also Present: Mrs A C Harris, Clerk & RFO Mr P J Ley, Assistant Clerk & FO

#### **1.APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

Were received from Councillor R Young

#### **2.DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

Councillor B Tiltman declared an interest as a tenant of the Allotment Garden.

#### **3.ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON**

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Alan Wathan be re-elected Chairperson for 2021/22

#### **4.APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON**

RESOLVED: That Councillor Martin Williams be re-elected Vice-Chairperson for 2021/22

#### 5.MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Council held on 10<sup>th</sup> September 2020, be noted as an aide memoire as they were approved and signed in October 2020.

#### **6.TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS**

RESOLVED: That the ordinary meetings of Council shall continue to take place on the second Thursday of each month at 7.00pm; except August when there shall be a recess. The Annual Meeting of the Council will take place at 6.30 pm on the due date in May. The December meeting shall be a Precept Meeting.

#### **7.APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES**

**RESOLVED:** It was agreed that there would be no changes to the Terms of Reference already in place for committees.

#### Finance and Resources Committee:

That the Finance and Resources Committee remains in place and the representatives are: Councillor A Wathan (Chair as an ex-officio Member), Councillor Alison Hughes, Councillor Bernard Tiltman and the Vice-Chair of Council, Martin Williams, will be the Committee Chair.

#### CAP Steering Committee:

That the CAP Steering Committee remains in place and the representatives are: Councillor A Davies (Committee Chair), Councillor Ceri Evans, Councillor C Jones and Councillor M Williams.

#### **Employment Committee:**

That the Employment Committee and the representatives are as follows, it would only meet when needed. The representatives are: Chair of Council, Alan Wathan, Councillor L Richards, Councillor A Hughes and Councillor D Barrington

#### **Disciplinary Committee:**

That the Disciplinary Committee and the representatives are as follows, it would only meet when needed. The representatives are: Chair of Council, Alan Wathan, Councillor L Richards, Councillor A Hughes and Councillor D Barrington

#### Allotment Committee:

That the agreed Allotment Committee procedure remains in place and continues as before. That the Allotment Committee representatives are: Councillor A Davies, D Barrington, M J Williams & R Young.

Any Allotment appeal will be heard by the Appeals Committee, which is made up of the remaining Councillors, with the exception of Councillor B Tiltman as he is an allotment tenant.

#### **8.REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES**

## **RESOLVED:** That the following be appointed/nominated to serve on the following outside bodies:

OVW National Meetings or Conferences:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
> OVW Area Committee Meetings:	Councillor B Tiltman (no named reserve)
OVW Larger Council Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
> Welsh Government & Regional Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
BCBC Town & Community Council Forum:	Councillor C Jones and Councillor C Walburn as reserve
Coity Walia Board of Conservators:	Councillor B Tiltman (Chair as reserve)
Miscellaneous Bodied & Ad-hoc Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve

#### 9.ALLOWANCES

RESOLVED: That the Allowances would remain as agreed at the December 2020 Precept Meeting and in the Council's Allowances Policy and in line with any increases set by the IRPW.

#### **10.INTERNAL AUDITOR**

RESOLVED: It was noted that the internal auditor for 2020/21 would be Mark Evans of Ridgewood Associates Ltd, Neath as agreed at the September 2020 Annual Meeting and it was agreed that he would also be the internal auditor for 2021/22.

In addition it was agreed that Mr Ceri Morgan of King Davies and Partners, Maesteg would continue to be the Community Council's solicitor for 2021/22.

It was also agreed that all Community Councillors would accept and adopt the Code of Conduct, as noted on their declaration of acceptance of office.

The meeting closed at 6.40 pm