

# **COITY HIGHER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD VIA ZOOM ON THURSDAY 10<sup>th</sup> SEPTEMBER 2020 AT 6.30 PM

Present:

M Williams (Outgoing Chair 2019/2020) A Wathan (Incoming Chair 2020/2021)

D Barrington A Davies A Hughes C Jones L Richards C Walburn

Also Present: Mrs A C Harris, Clerk & RFO Mr P J Ley, Assistant Clerk & FO

# **1.APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

Were received from Councillors C Evans, B TIltman and R Young

# 2.DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

# **3.ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON**

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Alan Wathan be elected Chairperson for the remainder of the year 2020/21.

Councillor Wathan thanked Members for his election and thanked outgoing Chair, Councillor Martin Williams, for all his hard work since May 2019.

# **4.APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON**

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Martin Williams be appointed Vice-Chairperson for the remainder of the year 2020/21.

### **5.MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL**

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Council held on 9<sup>th</sup> May 2019, be noted as an aide memoire as they were approved and signed in June 2019.

# 6.TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS

RESOLVED: That the ordinary meetings of Council shall continue to take place on the second Thursday of each month at 7.00pm; except August when there shall be a recess. The Annual Meeting of the Council will take place at 6.30 pm on the due date in May. The December meeting shall be a Precept Meeting.

# **7.APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES**

**RESOLVED:** It was agreed that there would be no changes to the Terms of Reference already in place for committees.

# Finance and Resources Committee:

That the Finance and Resources Committee remains in place and the representatives are: Councillor A Wathan (Chair), Councillor Alison Hughes, Councillor Bernard Tiltman and the Chair of Council, Martin Williams, as an ex-officio Member.

# CAP Steering Committee:

That the CAP Steering Committee remains in place and the representatives are: Councillor A Davies (Chair), Councillor Ceri Evans, Councillor C Jones and the Chair of Council, Martin Williams, as an ex-officio Member.

## **Employment Committee:**

That the Employment Committee and the representatives are as follows, it would only meet when needed. The representatives are: Chair of Council, Alan Wathan, Councillor L Richards, Councillor A Hughes and Councillor D Barrington

### **Disciplinary Committee:**

That the Disciplinary Committee and the representatives are as follows, it would only meet when needed. The representatives are: Chair of Council, Alan Wathan, Councillor L Richards, Councillor A Hughes and Councillor D Barrington

### Allotment Committee:

That the agreed Allotment Committee procedure remains in place and continues as before. That the Allotment Committee representatives are: Councillor A Davies, D Barrington, M J Williams & R Young.

Any Allotment appeal will be heard by the Appeals Committee, which is made up of the remaining Councillors, with the exception of Councillor B Tiltman as he is an allotment tenant.

# **8.REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES**

# **RESOLVED:** That the following be appointed/nominated to serve on the following outside bodies:

OVW National Meetings or Conferences:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
> OVW Area Committee Meetings:	Councillor B Tiltman (no named reserve)
OVW Larger Council Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
> Welsh Government & Regional Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
BCBC Town & Community Council Forum:	Councillor C Jones and Councillor C Walburn as reserve
Coity Walia Board of Conservators:	Councillor B Tiltman (Chair as reserve)
Miscellaneous Bodied & Ad-hoc Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve

# 9.ALLOWANCES

RESOLVED: That the Allowances would remain as agreed at the April 2019 Ordinary Council Meeting and in the Council's Allowances Policy and in line with any increases set by the IRPW.

### **10.INTERNAL AUDITOR**

RESOLVED: It was noted that the internal auditor for 2019/20 would be Mark Evans of Ridgewood Associates Ltd, Neath as agreed at the May 2019 Annual Meeting and it was agreed to defer a decision on the internal auditor for the financial year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2021 following further research by the Clerk and a discussion at the next Finance Committee meeting with a recommendation being made to full council in November.

### 11.SOLICITOR

RESOLVED: It was agreed that Mr Ceri Morgan of King Davies and Partners, Maesteg would continue to be the Community Council's solicitor for 2020/21.

It was also agreed that all Community Councillors would accept and adopt the Code of Conduct, as noted on their declaration of acceptance of office.

The meeting closed at 6.50 pm