

# **COITY HIGHER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD AT THE COMMUNITY CENTRE, HEOL WEST PLAS, LITCHARD CROSS, BRIDGEND ON THURSDAY, 10th MAY 2018 AT 6.00 PM

Present: Councillors A Wathan (Outgoing Chair) M Williams (Incoming Chair)

> D Barrington C Evans A Hughes (Vice-Chair) C Jones L Richards C Walburn

Apologies: Councillors A Davies, A Dodd and R Young

Also Present: Mrs A C Harris, Clerk & RFO, Mr P J Ley, Assistant Clerk & FO

## **1.APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE**

Were received from Councillors A Davies, A Dodd and R Young

#### 2.DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

#### **3.ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON**

RESOLVED: That Councillor Martin Williams be elected Chairperson for the following year.

#### **4.APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON**

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Alison Hughes be appointed Vice-Chairperson for the following year.

# **5.MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL**

**RESOLVED:** That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Council held on 11<sup>th</sup> May, 2017 be noted.

# **6.TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS**

RESOLVED: That the ordinary meetings of Council shall continue to take place on the second Thursday of each month at 7.00pm; except August when there shall be a recess. The Annual Meeting of the Council will take place at 6.30 pm on the due date in May. The December meeting shall be a Precept Meeting.

# **7.APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES**

**RESOLVED:** It was agreed that there would be no changes to the Terms of Reference already in place.

#### Allotment Committee:

That the agreed Allotment Committee procedure remains in place, and continues as before. That the Allotment Committee representatives are: Councillor A Davies, D Barrington, M J Williams & R Young.

Any Allotment appeal will be heard by the Appeals Committee which is made up of the remaining Councillors, with the exception of Councillor A Dodd as his parents are allotment tenants.

#### Finance and Resources Committee:

That the Finance and Resources Committee remains in place and the representatives are: Councillor A Hughes (Chair), Councillor Dean Barrington, Councillor A Wathan and the Chair of Council, Martin Williams, as an ex-officio Member.

## **CAP Steering Committee:**

That the CAP Steering Committee remains in place and the representatives are: Councillor A Davies (Chair), Councillor Ceri Evans, 1 vacancy deferred to the June 2018 Ordinary Council Meeting) and the Chair of Council, Martin Williams, as an ex-officio Member.

#### **Employment Committee:**

It was agreed to set up an Employment Committee and the representatives are as follows, it would only meet when needed. The representatives are: Chair of Council, Martin Williams, Councillor L Richards, Councillor A Hughes and Councillor D Barrington

### **Disciplinary Committee:**

It was agreed to set up a Disciplinary Committee and the representatives are as follows, it would only meet when needed. The representatives are: Chair of Council, Martin Williams, Councillor L Richards, Councillor A Hughes and Councillor D Barrington

# **8.REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES**

# **RESOLVED:** That the following be appointed/nominated to serve on the following outside bodies:

BCBC Town & Commun	nity Council Forum:	Councillor C Jones and Councillor C Walburn as reserve
Coity Walia Board of C	onservators:	Deferred to June Ordinary Meeting
<ul> <li>OVW National Meeting</li> </ul>	s or Conferences:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
OVW Larger Council M	eetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
> OVW Area Committee	Meetings:	Councillor C Walburn (no named reserve)
> Welsh Assembly & Reg	ional Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
Miscellaneous Bodied	£ Ad-hoc Meetings:	Chair and Vice-Chair as reserve
Litchard Primary School	ol Com. Governor: `	Councillor C Evans
Coety Primary School	Com. Governor:	Councillor A Hughes

#### 9.ALLOWANCES

**RESOLVED:** That the Allowances would remain as agreed at the April 2018 Ordinary Meeting (Minute 159).

$\triangleright$	Councillor Annual Allowance (Mandatory unless opted out)	£150
$\geqslant$	Chair Honorarium Payment	£1,000
$\geqslant$	Vice-Chair	£300
$\triangleright$	Chair of CAP Steering Group	£150

#### **10.INTERNAL AUDITOR**

**RESOLVED:** It was agreed that the internal auditor for 2018/19 would be Mark Evans of Ridgewood Associates Ltd, Neath.

It was also agreed that the all Community Councillors would accept and adopt the Code of Conduct, as noted on their declaration of acceptance of office.

The meeting closed at 6.20pm