

# **COITY HIGHER COMMUNITY COUNCIL**

#### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD AT THE COMMUNITY CENTRE, HEOL WEST PLAS, LITCHARD CROSS, BRIDGEND ON THURSDAY, 11th May 2017 AT 7.00 PM

Present: Councillors A Wathan (Chair)\*

D Barrington A Davies A Dodd C Evans A Hughes C Jones L Richards C Walburn M J Williams (Vice-Chair) R Young

Also Present:

Mrs A C Harris, Clerk & RFO Mr P J Ley, Assistant Clerk & FO

\*As the previous Chair had not stood for re-election and was not available to Chair the start of the meeting, and the previous Vice-Chair had not been reelected, the Clerk took the Chair for items number 1 and 2.

# 1. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following interests were declared:

Councillor	ltem	Interest	
Mr R Young	All BCBC Matters	Member BCBC	

### 2. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED: That Councillor Alan Wathan be elected Chairperson for the following year.

#### 3. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON

RESOLVED: That Councillor Martin Williams be appointed Vice-Chairperson for the following year.

#### 4. MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Council held on 12<sup>th</sup> May, 2016 be noted.

# 5. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: That the agreed Allotment Committee procedure remains in place, and continues as before. That the Allotment Committee representatives are:

Councillors A Davies, D Barrington, M J Williams & R Young.

Any Allotment appeal will be heard by the Appeals Committee which is made up of the remaining Councillors, with the exception of Councillor A Dodd as his parents are allotment tenants.

The system for considering planning applications shall continue whereby the Clerk is authorised to submit observations on behalf of the Council following consultations with all members; and it be noted that where there is a divergence of opinion the Clerk will favour observations from the following: Litchard & Brackla Industrial

Chairperson & Vice-Chairperson

Litchard & Pendre Wards

Chairperson & Ward Members

Coity Ward

Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson & Cllr A Hughes

# 6. TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS

RESOLVED: That the ordinary meetings of Council shall continue to take place on the second Thursday of each month at 7.00pm; except August when there shall be a recess; but dates and times can be re-arranged for the convenience of Members, either by the Council or the Chairperson and/or Vice Chairperson and at least one other Member i.e. three members in total.

# 7. REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES

RESOLVED: That the following be appointed/nominated to serve on the following outside bodies:

Body	Representative (Councillor)		Reserve (Councillor)		
Town & Communit Council Forum	y C Evans		L Richards		
Coity Walia Board Of Conservators	D Barrington & L R	lichards	N/A		
Bridgend Citizens' Advice Bureau	nd Citizens' To remove this organisation from the list. Bureau				
One Voice Wales:-	<b>&amp; Conference)</b> L Richards & C Evar		& Vice Chairperson		
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
Welsh Assembly & Regional Meetings: Chairperson & Vice-Chairperson					

Miscellaneous Bodied & Ad-hoc Meetings: Chairperson & Vice-Chairperson

Litchard Primary: C Evans elected as Community Council governor. Coety Primary: A Clemett is the current Community Council governor and his term ends 2020. However Mr Clemett is no longer a Community Councillor.

#### 8. CHAIRPERSON'S ALLOWANCE

(The Chairperson declared his interest, vacated the Chair and took no part in the proceedings other than to confirm that the Allowance had been adequate last year - Cllr M Williams took over the Chair).

- RESOLVED: That the Chairperson's Allowance for 2017/18 be retained at £750.00 and any residual money at the end of the year be put back into the general community council funds.
- NOTE: It was agreed that the internal auditor for 2017/18 would be Mark Evans of Ridgewood Associates Ltd, Neath.

It was also agreed that the all Community Councillors would accept and adopt the Code of Conduct, and this was noted on their declaration of acceptance of office.